Driving on a suspended license is a misdemeanor under the California Vehicle Code. For a first time offense, it can result in up to 6 months in jail and a fine for up to $1,000 in addition to having to pay court costs. Even worse, if the person has committed multiple offenses, jail time can be for up to one year and the fine can be for up to $2,000 dollars. Given this, it is advisable to have the support of an attorney assisting the community.
Therefore, if your license is suspended, it is best to refrain from driving a vehicle. In this case, it is preferable to take a cab or ask someone to drive you to your destination. It is best not to risk getting caught driving under these circumstances.
If you have driven on a suspended license, you must contact Conexión Legal as soon as possible so you can get the best free legal advice. This way you can get the best guidance there is and you can be contacted with an attorney assisting the community who can help your case with total transparency. Give us a call at 1 800 201 1220 or write us a message via WhatsApp to be represented by a traffic attorney.
According to the Vehicle Code 14601 of the State of California, it is an offense to drive when it is known that the driver’s license has been revoked or is no longer valid. The code is divided into different individual sections, depending on the reason for revocation.
In other words, the Law, not all license revocations are treated the same way. Some situations that could lead a person to face charges for a revoked license or cause its suspension are the following:
- Driving a vehicle then the person has knowledge about the suspension, which can happen in some cases if the person refuses to take a chemical test.
- Using a vehicle after the license has already been suspended for violating any traffic laws.
- The driver must have insurance for the vehicle and take care of the tickets he or she has received.
- When a person is declared to be a negligent operator of a vehicle.
- Ordinary violation. Refers to the constant repetition of the same traffic violation.
- Failure to report an accident in which you were involved to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Incidents related to alcohol or drugs. When the person refuses to take chemical tests and other offenses related to this area.
- Lack of payment for child support declared by court.
- Physical/mental conditions or disorders that adversely affect the person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.
- The person failed to appear in court after being cited for a traffic ticket.
What are the possible sanctions?
The penalties for driving while having a driving ban or while the driver’s license is withdrawn are jail time and fines. However, one of the reasons people’s driver’s licenses are suspended is to determine the specific section of the vehicle code that the person is alleged to have violated.
Driving a motor vehicle is a criminal offense if the person knows that the driver’s license has been suspended or withdrawn. The sentence for this type of cases are up to 6 months in prison and will need legal representation from an attorney that is assisting the community.
If you have questions regarding your case and consider necessary to have free legal help from a trustworthy attorney, you need to contact Conexión Legal as soon as possible so you can get the best advice for your case and the best free legal advice.
Follow the steps below to schedule your free consultation.
El equipo de redactores de Conexion Legal está compuesto por un grupo de abogados especialistas en casos de accidentes de tránsito, laborales e inmigración para latinos. Cada miembro del equipo cuenta con amplia experiencia en su área de especialización, y todos ellos están comprometidos en ofrecer la mejor información y asesoramiento legal a la comunidad latina.